City Music Live – Online Recital

Place & Time

Online (link on the right side!)


June 18, 2021

8:00 PM (available 48h)


A part of the ArtePiano Series on CityMusic Live, this musical journey through

various historical periods contains works that portray the idea of "images"

in music in very different ways. Chopin's Preludes are a one-of-a-kind

collection of twenty-four relatively short pieces, each of which can be

considered an image itself. According to Jeffrey Kresky, each of them portrays

and explores not only a different key, but also a different mood. As a cycle,

they come together in an especially connected manner, such that the whole

opus is truly more than just a sum of its parts.


The E-flat Major Sonata by Beethoven, with its title "quasi una fantasia" and

its four intertwined movements, each with a different character, conjures up

images in a differend, perhaps more abstract manner. Finally, the Petrouchka

Suite by Stravinsky is a transcription of a ballet, so the images contained in it

are much more tangible and follow the actual plot of the ballet involving

puppets brought to life at the Saint Petersburg Shrovetide Fair ("Maslenitsa").


F. Chopin:

24 Préludes, op. 28


L. v. Beethoven:

Sonata in E-Flat Major, op. 27 no. 1


I. Stravinsky:

Trois Mouvements de Petrouchka